top of page

Acerca de

CanellakisBrown_Duo_performing_1 (1).jpg

Canellakis-Brown Duo

December 7, 2021
7:30 p.m.

Tulane University,
Dixon Hall



  • Claude Debussy: Sonata for Cello and Piano in D Minor

  • Sergei Rachmaninoff: Sonata in G minor for Cello and Piano, Op. 19

  • Alberto Ginastera: Pampeana No. 2, Op. 21 (Rhapsody for Cello and Piano)

  • Gabriel Fauré: Romance, Op. 69

  • Michael Brown: Prelude and Dance (2017)

  • Maurice Ravel: Alborada del gracioso, for solo piano

  • Gershwin: Three preludes for cello and piano (arr. Canellakis) 


Canellakis-Brown Duo

  • Nicholas Canellakis, Cellist

  • Michael Brown, Pianist-Composer

“A pair of adventurous young talents” (Time Out New York) who “play with their antennae tuned to each other” (The Washington Post).

CanellakisBrown_Duo_Outdoor (1).jpg

Cellist Nicholas Canellakis and pianist-composer Michael Brown have been captivating audiences throughout the world for more than a decade. Their unique talents combine masterpieces from the standard literature with original compositions and arrangements.


Both artists with the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, they are also guest curators for series around the country including the 2021 Music@Menlo Winter Focus Residency and the Chamber Music Sedona, where Canellakis is the Artistic Director. Mr. Brown, described as a “young piano visionary” (The New York Times), has served as Composer-in-Residence with the New Haven Symphony.  They maintain active solo careers performing concertos each season.

Michael Brown and Nicholas Canellakis appear by arrangement with Sciolino Artist Management.

bottom of page