Concert Season

Pacifica String Quartet

Wednesday, October 21, 2015
8:00  PM
Dixon Hall, Tulane University

Simin Ganatra, first violin

Sibbi Bernhardsson, second violin

Masumi Per Rostad, viola

Brandon Vamos, cello



String Quartet in F Major, Prussian Quartet No. 3, K. 590

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)

String Quartet No. 3 Glitter, Shards, Doom, Memory

Shulamit Ran (b. 1949)

String Quartet in E minor, Op. 44, No. 2

Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)

Formed in 1994, the Pacifica Quartet quickly won chamber music’s top competitions, including the 1998 Naumburg Chamber Music Award. In 2002 the ensemble was honored with Chamber Music America’s Cleveland Quartet Award and the appointment to Lincoln Center’s CMS Two, and in 2006 was awarded a prestigious Avery Fisher Career Grant, becoming only the second chamber ensemble so honored in the Grant’s long history. And in 2009, the Quartet was named “Ensemble of the Year” by Musical America.

The members of the Pacifica Quartet live in Bloomington, IN, where they serve as quartet-in-residence and full-time faculty members at the Jacobs School of Music. Prior to their appointment, the Quartet was on the faculty of the University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana from 2003 to 2012. The Pacifica Quartet also serves as resident performing artist at the University of Chicago.

The Pacifica Quartet is endorsed by D'Addario and proudly uses their strings. Recognized for its virtuosity, exuberant performance style, and often-daring repertory choices, over the past two decades the Pacifica Quartet has gained international stature as one of the finest chamber ensembles performing today. The Pacifica tours extensively throughout the United States, Europe, Asia, and Australia, performing regularly in the world’s major concert halls. Named the quartet-in-residence at Indiana University's Jacobs School of Music in March 2012, the Pacifica was also the quartet-in-residence at the Metropolitan Museum of Art (2009 – 2012) – a position that has otherwise been held only by the Guarneri String Quartet – and received the 2009 Grammy Award for Best Chamber Music Performance.

For more information on the Quartet, please visit

© Copyright 2002 New Orleans Friends of Music

Web Site by New Orleans Web Design